Support

Still loving the renovations and especially that heated toilet seat during these brrrrrr months.

The photos below show why we became very grateful that we decided to do the renovation. When the side boards were removed under our computer porch (that’s what we call it – it’s actually my tv room), we saw that we had been extremely lucky that the whole thing had stayed up as long as it did.

2011-12-16 008 2011-12-16 010

Look at the posts! We were a little astounded. Our contractor just shook his head.

And now, they look a lot safer (and supportive)!

2012-01-09 006

When the house was built in 1984, our computer porch was actually a screened porch. They converted it – we don’t know when, but didn’t make any structural changes, I guess.

And… We have a spacious storage area under the computer porch and the screened porch. It’s great.

2012-08-20 001

Good thing we didn’t have any dance parties out there!

And just for fun – some links to enjoy.

SPCA Video – Be careful. You could end up adopting a new friend…
http://blog.petflow.com/if-this-doesnt-make-you-hug-your-dog-or-cat-i-dont-know-what-will/

And another – a man who was buried with his motorcycle… (comment from Moffett, “So, this guy went whole hog.”)
http://www.dispatch.com/content/stories/local/2014/01/31/buried-on-motorcycle.html

And, speaking of support… - my cousin’s son’s wife – good grief, I have no idea how to define this cousin stuff but… Her name is Lisa Jackson, she’s married to Tom who is the grandson of my dad’s sister, Mae Jackson.

Their friends, the Richard Family, lost their son Martin, at the Boston Marathon last year. Lisa will be running this year in honor of Martin.
martinrichard“On April 21st I will be running the Boston Marathon in honor of our good friend Martin Richard who died last year in the Boston Marathon bombings.  Not a day goes by that I don’t think of Martin Richard, his beautiful smile, and mischievous personality.  My son Joe and he were great friends and teammates and, needless to say, this has been a very difficult year.  I have the privilege of running and raising money for the newly established TEAM MR8.  Below is the mission of the Foundation – one that I am proud to embrace and support.  While I thought my marathon days were long behind me, I have been given this opportunity to run this year and I hope you will consider supporting me and TEAM MR8.”

From Martin’s Family – - -We established The Martin W. Richard Charitable Foundation to honor our son Martin’s message of peace, a message that went global in the days after he was tragically taken from us while we were all cheering on runners at last year’s race.  While the pain of that day will forever be with us, our hope is that this special event becomes a source of strength for our family and a means to make a difference in the world.  The mission of our foundation is “to honor Martin’s message of ‘No more hurting people – peace’ by investing in education, athletics and community.”

You can donate to Lisa’s run at:
http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/lisa-jackson-12/team-mr8-boston-marathon-2014

She’s a nice young woman, who cares. Read more about TEAM MR8: http://www.dotnews.com/2014/dot-runners-form-nucleus-team-mr8

web lisa jackson 5-13Lisa’s on the left.       “I think about Martin all the time when I go running,” Lisa said. “I just want the kids to know you can go on. I just can’t believe how strong they are: Bill and Denise and Henry and Jane. If I can do this one little race for them and raise some money to keep Martin’s memory alive and his mission – “No more hurting people –“ peace”– it’s one small thing that I can do.”And thanks!

Bring on February!

This entry was posted in House Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Support

  1. Alice says:

    Looking at the pictures, I have to say I’m astonished! Ever since we lived in New England in the ’70s I’ve bragged that New Englanders were so skilled in carpentry and putting structures together! Good luck to Lisa on her run!

Comments are closed.