Ice Out but, it’s still cold

Ice Out on Lake Winnipesaukee was official this week – one for the record books. You can read the local newspaper article here.  Moffett’s cousin Dick starts questioning us every March to get the scoop on Ice Out. Last Saturday was gorgeous, temps near 70, opened windows and doors, just delightful. Right now it’s cold and Moffett has started a fire in the wood stove. Oh well.

Today I hauled out the Hallmark Easter Bunny. I bought it a couple of years ago and brought it to dad at the nursing home. He was not happy – didn’t like it at all. Told me it was not appropriate for a General in the US Army to have something so stupid in his room. He agreed to keep it but said I’d have to pick it up in a couple of days. OK. When I offered to bring it home with me a few days later, he said nope. Turns out the staff loved it and so, kept dropping by his room to push the button to start the music. He even took it to meals so everyone else could see it. He also loaned it to the nurses’ station so others could enjoy the silliness. So, each Easter I’d bring it back and he’d groan, and then smile. I learned this “trick” many years ago while in the hospital during the birth of our first born, Chris. A neighbor, Jan, brought a huge box of chocolate chip cookies. She told me to leave them out and I’d be guaranteed visits by nurses throughout the day. She was a nurse and she was sooo right. So, here it is.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ice Out but, it’s still cold

  1. Chuck says:

    What a GREAT memory!!

  2. Chris says:

    Well, I think it’s pretty cute myself but it’s the story that really made me smile. He wouldn’t let you take it back, priceless!

  3. Julian Huffer says:

    CUTE!! – I like the frog.

  4. H C says:

    CUTE as ever! How come he doesn’t come to work?

    Is that TV in the background?

  5. Russ says:

    Great story! Did you notice the TV in the background keeping time to the music. toward the end. Happy Ice Out.

  6. Sandy says:

    See you soon! Love the story – the big tough General I wish I could have met him.

  7. Meg says:

    Hard on the outside, soft on the inside!!!!

Comments are closed.