Today is my birthday!

(I played this – on a record ((umm, one of those big round things)) – for both kids on their first birthdays and danced around the family room with each one. We took them to see Paul McCartney at KC’s Arrowhead Stadium when they were in high school – very weird to watch w/ your own kids, then older than you were, when the Beatles were “the music group.”)

Yup, today is the day – OMG, I’m sixty?! I don’t feel sixty but then, who knows what sixty is supposed to feel like?

So, for fun, I went looking for one of those websites that tell you what was going on – on the day you were born. So here is the news on the day of my birth. (Found this at: dMarie Time Capsule)

I have to say, this has been fun! I started working on it in March, as I knew we’d be in KC when I posted it.

Top News Headlines That Week
Apr 11 – Prince Rainier III becomes ruler of Monaco
Apr 11 – US B-29 bomber shot down above Latvia
Apr 14 – 1st edition of British strip “Eagle”
Apr 14 – Doorne’s Auto factory opens in Netherlands
Apr 18 – 1st transatlantic jet passenger trip
Apr 18 – Yankees win 15-10 after trailing Red Sox 9-0 in 6th (Booooo!)

Top Songs for 1950
Mona Lisa by Nat King Cole

Chattanoogie Shoe Shine Boy by Red Foley

The Third Man Theme by Anton Karas (also Guy Lombardo)

The Thing by Phil Harris

All My Love by Patti Page

Goodnight, Irene by Weavers with Gordon Jenkins

I Can Dream, Can’t I? by Andrews Sisters

The Tennessee Waltz by Patti Page

If I Knew You Were Comin’ I’d’ve Baked a Cake by Eileen Barton

Harbor Lights by Sammy Kaye

US President
Harry S. Truman
US Vice President
Alben W. Barkley

Academy Award Winners
Best Picture – All About Eve
Best Actor – Jose Ferrer in
Cyrano DeBergerac
Best Actress – Judy Holliday in Born Yesterday

1950 Prices
Bread – $0.14/loaf
Milk – $0.82/gallon
Eggs – $0.70/dozen
Car – $1,750
Gas – $0.27/gallon
Stamp – $0.03/each
Average Income – $3,815/year
Minimum Wage – $0.75/hour
DOW Average – 235

On TV
Time for Beany

Truth or Consequences

The Alan Young Show (also did Mr.Ed)

The Ed Sullivan Show – I chose this one from 2/64 as we lived in England at the time.

The Burns and Allen Show

Hot New Toys
Little People
Clue

Top Books
Florence Nightingale by Cecil Woodham-Smith
Parade’s End by Ford Madox Ford
The Door in the Wall by Marguerite de Angeli
The Liberal Imagination by Lionel Trilling

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Today is my birthday!

  1. Sandy says:

    You are amazing to put this whole thing together. Very cool!!

  2. Russ says:

    Dang! You are old. Ha! I can say that because I’m still older than you, but you are catching up. Someday you’ll have to show me how you do all this. It’s like magic to me. Great job. And oh, Happy birthday.

  3. Meg says:

    How amazing, I just spent an hour on your “birthday page” and I wonder where my days go. Hope it was the best day ever.

  4. Crystal says:

    Happy Birthday, Colleen!! I am an hour late….oops.

    Hope you had a Fantastic day! 🙂

  5. Chuck says:

    Really, really cool. Especially for those born in 1950 – I happen to know a few!!

  6. Harriet Cutting says:

    Happy for you.
    Bask in your good memories and blessings over those 60 years.

    SHC

  7. Barbara Morrill says:

    Colleen,
    I scanned your blog. What a lot of work but it is interesting to look back to see what was happening in the old days! Try going back to my era, Ha! Too long ago. Hope you are having a good time and Moffett is finally getting to relax. Talk to you soon. Barb

  8. Lynne says:

    Sounds like you had a great day! And I love that you played The Beatles for your kids on their first birthdays – what a cool mom. Let’s hope the other 364 are fab as well…

  9. Julian Huffer says:

    What a great ‘amble’ down the old lane all of us seem to be traveling! Gonna save it for posterity – hmmnm – don’t ask me why. Pics from your trip to Kansas and Arkansas very good and we enjoyed – too bad you had to return to snow! (we still don’t have any!!).

  10. Kate says:

    Happy 60th. I will join you soon. Can’t believe it either. Didn’t we just leave Radford?

  11. Kay Dennison says:

    Happy Belated Birthday, Colleen! I’ve been buried!! Now I understand your determination!! You are a Ram like me!!!!!

    And it’s one of those ‘0’ birthdays to boot!!! Hope it was a good one!

  12. Becky says:

    Sounds like you had a wonderful birthday! Congrats on 60 years! Becky

  13. Chris says:

    What a fab post! Loved it! I’m sure you had a great time putting it together.

    Hope the b-day was just a fab…xxoo

Comments are closed.