Just the porch is done…

You all are so kind! Everyone was excited that we’re done.

We’re not done.

The porch is done. (And the weather has been quite miserable since it was finished…).

The decking is not done. The siding shakes are not done.

And…………………………………
To add to the fun, we’re now painting the inside rooms. These guys don’t “just paint.” They’re repairing all the cracks, bumps, nail pops, whatever. And so, it’s a zoo here.

Last night’s and this morning’s fun – we had to empty the wall unit in the dining room. It’s huge and we’ve stashed a LOT of STUFF there for the last few years. Got it done and we’re determined to get rid of STUFF. But – it’ll have to be later as there’s not time now.
Half empty…

Yup, that silver needs polishing. I’ll add that to my “to do list.”

When the living room, dining room, kitchen are done, we have to choose which room is next. Probably going to be the downstairs guest room – the one that’s filled with all the STUFF from dad’s house.

So, we’ve told the contractors to get their STUFF out of half of the garage, so we can move the dad STUFF into there.

It’s never-ending…

And – next week is Bike Week! Thousands of motorcycles! The weather forecast looks good for all the visitors and that’s great! Our local businesses could really, really use the tourists. And so, I’ll gripe but I’ll smile.

And tonight, a beautiful rainbow…

This entry was posted in House Stuff, New Hampshire and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Just the porch is done…

  1. Meg says:

    as I said before, project, project, project, very soon now it will all be over and you’ll be so happy that you’ll love all that you’ve done, and boy do I love giving stuff away and cleaning out stuff, now if I could only get Robert to do it also, he’s my hoarder!!!

  2. Sue Cobbs says:

    I know you must think the end is never going to come….but once it does…wow, it will be so nice and you will be so happy. And if you are going to paint the guest room…well, that means we should come visit!!

  3. John Leggett says:

    Your home looks beautiful. I still have my Harley and sometimes I think that it would be fun to come see you during bike week. I am getting too old and lazy to implement my great ideas. We are all well. I hope that you are also.

  4. james d barr says:

    Just like moving —-Yuk

  5. Alice says:

    You know what they say about rainbows in the evening? …in the morning, sailor’s warning; in the evening, sailor’s delight! A good omen. We’re looking ahead to painting our whole house next year, so for prep we’re looking at the office. I figure that’s the best way to get it really cleaned out and ship-shape, and we’re going to that room ourselves–soon this month. Sure wish you could send your painters for the rest of the house–all those high ceilings, some of them 18 feet!

  6. Ron Gheen says:

    Wow! You guys are really doing it up right. Now we are going to have to take a trip to check it out. Bike week, in my dreams! Those days are gone. Don’t envy the disruptions but I know it will be great when you get it done. Our love to both of you

  7. Gail says:

    Never a dull moment… that’s life. Lots going on in Virginia this summer too. Beach with Amy, Donald moving to Alabama, Emma staying with us, Owen and Noah staying with us, a wedding to go to, Nancy always, Donnie’s Mother this weekend. (and I still get bored?)

Comments are closed.